A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument attempts to bridge a conclusion that, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay. That conclusion is based on the premises that, without any regular dental care, children in Nepal have lower level of tooth decay than children in USA. However, in deeper analysis, it become evident that, certain relevant aspects have not been taken into consideration, leading to a number of mistaken assumptions and logical flaws.

One such flaw in the argument is that, it is based on a study whereas the scope and validity of that study is not verified. It is not clear, how much children were taken into the study and what was the method of testing tooth decay. If a statistics is not clear and reliable, it can not be used to back up the author's conclusion.

Moreover, the argument says that, children in the USA see a dentist on an average of 1.25 times per year. But only with that information, we can not reach to a conclusion that, regular dental care is not helpful as dentists do not work with tooth decay only. There are many other tooth ailments for which children can consult with a dentist. Similarly, it is not guaranteed that, children's are working according to the dentist's prescriptions. There can be situations like, what doctor advice, are not followed by the children. So, if that is the case, we can not just vilify the regular dental care for not being helpful in preventing tooth decay. At the same time, food habit can play a vital role in tooth's strength and that is why we can not just say that dental care is not working without knowing the food habit of the people of suburban USA. The author of the argument should have clarified that issue to make his claim more believable.

Additionally, it is not clear in the argument that, whether the report indicates proportion or number of children on those two areas. If the report is made on numbers of children having tooth decay, obviously there can be small number of children having tooth decay in Himalayan mountain region in Nepal, as there live a very small amount of people compared to the suburban areas in the United States. So, to substantiate the author's viewpoints, the author should have clarified that issue.

So, to conclude, the argument lacks information and seems to provide inchoate assumptions. The conclusion provided by the author seems tenuous due to lack of supporting evidences. The argument should have presented more logical information and concrete evidence to substantiate the viewpoints and to make the argument more cogent.