Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

People tend to focus more on the existential concerns than on their intellectual pursuits. This is a trait that we have inculcated as a member of the animal kingdom. Whether this skewed allocation of resources is the right approach or not?. This question has been debated by many philosophers, but it is incontrovertible that physical 'existence' is a necessary condition for pursuing any intellectual pursuits. Expenditure in military serves towards fulfilling this necessary condition of 'existence', and in the trade-off between arms and art, it is arms that should be, and rightly so, be given more consideration.

Firstly, physical existence is sine-qua-non for any intellectual pursuits by the mankind and hence endeavors that ensure survival should preempt any other public policy concerns. If the country is not able to defend itself, then its people who are the creators of art, and even the ensemble of artistic manifestations are lost in no time. For instance, as Afghanistan lost its control to the Talibans, the bamiyan temples were despoiled by the radical forces in no time. All the intellectuals flew the country as they did not find themselves safe in their homeland anymore.

Secondly, the disproportionate investment in art also makes a country more vulnerable to attack. India is a classic example: Indian silk was revered in the English markets. Britishers were fond of Indian muslin as well. Very soon, the British administration realized that they are losing too much of wealth to India, and they were astute enough to discover that the Indian monarchy do not have sophisticated military strength. Hence, India became the imperial target of the Britishers, and they ended up ruling India for more than a hundred years. British reign in India was marred by the complete destruction of Indian indigenous art and culture as the erstwhile monarchs who were the patrons of such art were no more to be found.

Thirdly, higher investment in the military has network effect for the economy, leading to higher growth and GDP. Richer nations can invest more in art and culture, in absolute terms. This phenomenon can be palpably observed in the case of Sweden that has a formidable defense sector. This sector has not only made Sweden a strong nation especially considering its size, but the military technology has been a major foreign exchange earner for the treasury. Sweden exports arms and ammunitions to the whole world. More importantly, the military technology has spilled over in other facets of industrial output, thereby raising the economic productivity of the nation as a whole. People can argue that Renaissance contributed more to the human civilization than world wars, but we should not forget that the halcyon period of Renaissance was only possible because of the political stability in Europe under that period. That political stability was the manifestation of the mutual cognizance of military strength. If one country would have felt that the other can be easily attacked and conquered, then there would have been wars. The security insured by the virtue of being strong is indispensable for peace, which eventually translated into artistic accomplishments of the citizens as well.

In conclusion, as the investment in the military is a necessary condition for warding off foreign attacks and interventions, it not only resoundingly more important, but it also ensures that the domestic art and culture is preserved and prospers by rendering a halcyon period for the citizenry to peacefully pursue art. Art can wait, but physical safety cannot. Also, the spillover technologies from investment in the military has boosted growth and made countries richer, thereby making such countries better placed to invest more in the art.