A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Medical science has always been an evolving field. A chemical once considered deleterious have been later found to have certain properties that can act as an antidote for maladies. The reverse is also true. The recent investigation by the pet food company on its recalled products concluded that it does not have any prohibited ingredients. The company, however, should not stop the investigation because clearly their products have been alleged to have caused illness and if such an effect can be scientifically attributed to their product, then it is incumbent on the company to inform the authorities to include such contriving chemicals in the list of prohibited items. This is important because one's act legal yet immoral. No wonder law and the concept of legality is always in a flux. Hence, the claim that company should stop investigating further is based on unsubstantiated assumptions.

Firstly, the fact that the company's pet products does not have any prohibited item is not a conclusive evidence of the product not been the reason behind the alleged illness. This is a testable assumption. The extant law only represents the result of cumulative research conducted till date and not the possible results of future research. Hence, the list of prohibited items is not, and rightly so, sacrosanct. As new results emerge, this list will be updated. For instance, Chloro Floro Carbons (CFC) had been used extensively in early 20th century as it was not a banned substance. However, after the discovery of its implications on ozone layer, the same was banned by nations across the world.

Secondly, the investigation assumes that assay conducted on recalled products is sufficient to conclude for the whole batch of products manufactured by the company over the years. Their assumption that the sample is representative should be tested rigorously. It is likely, that alleged illness is due to consumption of products produced in particular batch only, and none of them were represented in the recalled products. Or it is possible that the same ingredients can be harmless to certain dogs, but cause illness to others. Also, the ingredients may have different impacts depending upon the environmental factors of the places where they have been consumed. For instance, high sugar food would increase the

In conclusion, the claim that the company should stop any further investigation hinges on multifarious assumption that have not been proved to be valid. The ingredients can still be deleterious despite being not included in the prohibited list. Also the recalled sample may not be representative. Hence, a comprehensive investigation should be conducted to establish or rebuff causality using a representative sample.