A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

Is seeing a Dentist absolutely necessary for the healthy teeth ? This is not a cardinal truth ,at least, not in the stated expansive form of generality. Similar question has emerged in the recent study on dental health of the suburban americans and nepalese children residing in the himalayan region. The study concludes that since the nepalese children have better teeth despite any dentist care, dentists surely are in-efficacious in preventing tooth decay. While it is possible that professional dental care is not that effective, but there could be other mechanisms at play that can provide alternative explanations to the phenomenon. It is possible that since pollution level in suburban areas of the USA is much higher than the himalayan region, the counterfactual for USA could have been even worse with much more tooth decay. Also as the probability of tooth decay increases with age, it could simply be the case that the median subject studied in American sub-urban was much older than the nepalese kids. We should also not forget that the temperature has non-trivial effect on human health, which leads to a testable hypothesis that the difference in the tooth decay incidence is attributable solely to the temperature difference between the mountain region and the plains

Firstly, higher pollution at the suburban region could be the cause behind higher tooth decay instances. Human body, including the bone structure and teeth are highly responsive to the pollution. Higher degree of chemicals in American towns can be the reason behind higher tooth decay. It is possible that if these sub-urban kids stop taking dentist services than they would be subjected to more tooth decay.

Secondly, bucolic lifestyle at the himalayas must be much healthier than the urban lifestyle of American towns. American kids consume more chocolates and other decaying food items than himalayan kids. This could be the reason behind the difference in dental health.

Thirdly, the difference in dental health could be solely attributable to the age difference of the sample subjects at Nepal and American sub-urban. Older people are more likely to suffer from tooth decay and since the study included only kids in Nepal as a comparator the result was doomed to be in favor of the Lilliputians.

Lastly, the temperature difference between hilly region and the place can also be a plausible explanation to the phenomenon. Teeth is essentially a kind of bone which has higher shelf life in lower temperatures over hot whether.

In conclusion, although the phenomenon of nepalese kids having lesser tooth decay is true, it doesn't prove the in-efficaciousness of professional dental care at American towns. Such a conclusion can only be made if the counterfactual of no-dental care was observed, which ipso-facto can never be latent. The difference in dental health could be attributable to the differences in age, pollution level, lifestyle or simply temperature between the two samples. Hence, unless we normalise the result for these differences, we would not be in the position to claim that regular dental health is not helpful