Pirouettes Ballet School is the clear choice for any child. Of all the dance schools in Elmtown, Pirouettes has the most intensive program, and our teachers have danced in the most prestigious ballet companies all over the world. Many of our students have gone on to become professional dancers with top dance companies.

Modern world is fraught with instances of marketing gimmicks. Selective usage of statistics and deliberate omission of underlying assumptions, all to establish a coveted image has become a commonplace phenomenon. This image is very soon monetized for the benefit of the marketeer. The consumer of such advertisements, the common people, are the only losers in the whole process. Dance schools are not an exception for sure. Pirouettes Ballet School's claim of being a 'clear choice' is also marred with multifarious unanswered questions and unsubstantiated assumptions. The higher number of successful students doesn't say anything about the relative success of the whole student community. Also, the performances by teachers does not necessarily translate into higher learning output of their students. This is true even if we assume that teachers of other school are not as good as that of Pirouettes, which is again an assumption, asking for an empirical validation.

Firstly, higher absolute number of successful students doesn't necessarily mean higher relative success. Relative success is a better measure for the efficacy of teaching of any school as is takes into account the whole student community. For instance, Pirouettes may place hundred students annually at coveted dance companies, more than any other school, but it is possible that the student intake at Pirouette is ten thousand making the placement percentage to be the meagre 1 %. It is possible that other dance school may place lesser number of students at top dance companies but commands a better success rate. Hence, the likelihood of a new student to be successful would be higher in that school over Pirouettes.

Secondly, success of teachers may not translate in better student performances. It is possible the teachers at Pirouettes prioritize their own performances over teaching. On the other hand, there could be other schools that focus more on pedagogical aspects. New students would be better off opting for such schools. We can learn from universities, Hoover institute at the Stanford university is primarily as research think tank, and it also has a small public policy program. While Hoover is world famous for its research, the program per se is no where in the global ranking.

Thirdly, even for the time being we assume that teachers' performances has spill-over effect on the teaching aspect as well, the argument is silent on the relative performance of Pirouettes teachers over others. It is possible that the teachers of other schools hav also performed brilliantly at high places. It is important to establish that relative performance of the school to claim that is is better than other.

In conclusion, the claim that students should opt for Pirouettes over other schools sounds just like a marketing gimmick, as such a claim hinges on many assumptions and questions that Pirouettes have conveniently chosen not to answer. Relative performance of the students is a more nuanced metric to measure the quality of teaching input given to the students. Also, the standalone performances of Pirouettes teaches doesn't buttress the argument as it lacks the comparative understanding of the abilities of Pirouettes teachers vis-a-vis teachers of other schools.