Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Should morality be taught in the schools ?. This questions has been debated for ages by philosophers and scientists. Although people would argue that the debate has not resulted into any incontrovertible theory, the importance of morality has often been acknowledged by the history of human civilization.Teaching morality is indispensable for the production of moral society. Logical reasoning is a 'methodology' which can be applied for both 'moral' and 'immoral' pursuits. Moreover, there is a danger in attributing too much importance to logical reasoning as it very often becomes a cult that overshadows any subjective concerns. Also, morality brings about some level of subjectivity, which is desirable as no human situations can be totally modeled precisely; hence, logical reasoning, when applied in silo, has very serious limitations.

Firstly. 'logical reasoning' is just a methodology of analysing the situation at hand, and hence it can not replace the domain area of morality. A methodology alone can never engender a qualitative output like a 'moral society'. For instance, using the tools of logical reasoning a student can conclude that it is efficient for him to cheat in the exam as it would lead to higher grades that is necessary for this career. But is is moral?. The student in this case can perform a cost-benefit analysis ( a methodology that manifests logical reasoning) and conclude in favour of malpractices.

Secondly, too much importance to 'logical reasoning' often leads to cult of absolute objectivity where any subjective concerns are looked down upon. No human situations can be totally modeled. Economists, on a contrary, have been using complex mathematical models and logical reasoning to model them. Such economists often become so obsessed with their models that they totally shrug off any subjective additions to their model. And very ofter, these models which is an apotheosis of logical reasoning often fail miserably. Public policies based on these mathematical models are at times very insensitive, and often immoral. For instance, USA despite being the richest nation of the world can not afford to provide free health facilties to its citizens. Surely, there are 'logical reasons behind it. One may argue that logical reasoning may help from warding off malicious subjectivity and favoritism in decision making, but such favoritism can happen even in selection of variables in developing the so called local models.

Moral education is sine-quo-non for creating the moral society. Students exposed to moral thoughts in the school tens to be more judicious and sensitive to larger concerns of their actions. Too much reliance on methodology will only lead to determinism that does not represent the world we live in.