Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

Government of the previous centuries apparently spent more in the military as compared to the military nowadays. However, countries like Finland, Iceland spend an absolute zero in their military. The prompt claims that government investment in arts must be tantamount to their investment in military. Does that mean that the peace loving countries spend nothing to develop art? However, in a not so quixotic world, most countries spend largely in the military and less in the art. I mostly agree with the claim on the basis of two specific circumstances.

Good arts last forever while war, which can engendered by military ego in opposing countries, is a bad memory or a peice of disgrace for the country. Art museums in Paris still boasts the great painting of Pastiche and Piccaso. However, one of my German friend saw Hitler's regime in Germany as the forgettable history of his country. Similarly, writing of Shakespheare are as prevalent today as it were 200 years ago but war and military tactics of Genghis Khan may only be found on the history books. Since art perpetuates forever, a good art can be a country's greatest recognition, the country should spend considerably on its art form.

Military exercise entails fear across borders. Whole Japan is off their feet when N. Korea tests one of its "small" nuclear bombs. A good peice of art unites people. While India and Pakistan are always on the verge of war, music of Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan and Jagjit Singh fractionally unite them. Even they are fighting on bureacratic level, their soul demands the similar art form. Military , which is generally used in mass destruction, brings no good for both sides. While developing art is not like opening a gun factory, art requires people to be more creative. Hence government should focus on providing funds to artist so they wouldn't have to abjure their art for a living.

According to Maslow's Heirarchy of needs, a person's basic need is more important than their intellectual needs. Basic need which includes food, shelter, safety are the major prioriy of humans and other need cannot be fulfilled without theswe needs. For example, can we imagine a great artist emerging from a war stricken region? Although, there might be some exceptions, most people cannot concentrate on other needs unless his life is not safe. In such specific conditions, there is no apparent reason to invest in art.

In conclusion, different government spend different amount for their military. Investment on art can be forever and it binds people across borders