Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Art is an essential part of people's way of life; it enables a people to better understand their cultural heritage and better identify with who they are. However, if there is any sector that is more important to the existence of a country, and thereby deserves more funding from the government than the Art sector, it is the military sector.

A country that does not have the capacity to defend it denizens and resources, from both internal and external hostile forces, is more prone to attacks that may end up resulting in the country's collapse. When there is no country or perhaps the country is being piloted by external forces, art would be the last thing on the mind of the citizens. Like a fairly popular saying goes, a government that cannot protect the lives and properties of its citizens does not deserve to be called a government.

Although, people might want to argue that when art is well funded, it can be used as a platform to enlighten the citizen and instill patrotism into the general populace and, therefore, should be funded more, however, there are numerous ways by which the art sector can generate income (such as tourism and ticket prices on exhibition) and maintain self-sustanance. The military does not have that luxury of options and mainly depends on the government of the country. Government are therefore expected to live up to the expectation and provide adequate funds for the military.

Lastly, the funds needed to fund the military of a country, on an average is much more than the one needed by the Art sector. Even light ammunitions like hand thrown grenades and pistol gun cost several thousands of dollars, not to talk of heavy ammunitions like fighter jets and submarines which command millions of dollars and several years for assembling them. Looking at the facts above; the superior importance of the military, the fact that arts can source for money from other sources while the military mainly depends on the government, and the military's need for more funds, the government of various countries should appropriate more funds to their military sectors.