People attend college or university for many various reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge). Why do you think people attend college or university? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Humans are complex beings, as such, their actions and inactions can be very difficult to predict. The reason why an individual decides to eschew an action may be the same reason why another individual embraces it. The reasons why people undergo post high-school education are diverse. However, I think the reason why people go to universities and colleges for further education can be broadly divided into two because of a fundamental reason: that is, their financial security and environment.

An impecunious person from Africa, for example, wouldn't attend university/college to meet new people or to acquire more knowledge in the real sense of it. Such a person would be more interested in developing some basic skills and getting a degree that would allow him/her to be more employable, and subsequently fare better in the harsh environment he had grown up. In other words, the motive of that man from Africa to further his education to college level would, most probably, be career preparation.

On the other hand, a financially stable young man from Europe who is more interested in what makes him feel fulfilled/happy may decide to get a college degree in order to gain more knowledge, meet more like minds or any other reason that has little to do with career preparation. In conclusion, though it is difficult to pinpoint reasons for people's decisions, I believe the financial status and environment of individuals decide the reasons why they go to colleges and universities for further education. The reason can either be career preparation or fulfilment.