“People most respect the powerful not when they exercise their power, but when they refrain from exercising it.”

Write an essay in which you develop and support a position on the statement above. In writing your essay, you should consider both when the statement may be true and when it may be false.

In what occasions do people revere powerful people the most? Is it when the exercise the power in their custody or when they decide to reserve such power? Although one might want to argue that people respect those who do not exercise their power more, however, a profound reflection of the argument shows that people tend to venerate those who make use of the power in their custody more. Moreover, when power is not being put to use, it is as good as not being powerful at all.

Only a few situations like when there is an altercation between a man (who is generally considered to have more strength) and a lady (who is considered to have less power) is shying away from making use of such power/strength considered a respectable act. Even at that, some people would argue that such a man is not “manly” enough and might call such a man derogative names. Therefore, even in such a situation, the respect in such an act is subjective.

The police, for example, have the power to maintain law and other in the society. Negligence from exercising such power would end of making the police force look like toothless dogs, and subsequently lose the respect they are supposed to command from all and sundry. For example, in the case of a riot, the police is expected to be on ground to quench the riot and make the environment peaceful and calm as quick as possible by the exercising of their power. If the police decides not to take actions, both the rioters and the peace abiding citizens would respect the police less. In such situations, using the power in the police’s capacity would increase the respect that the society would accord them.

Political leaders are also deemed as powerful in the society and the society gives them such power and prestige so that they can put it into use in order to move the society forward. If the political leaders decide not to use the power given to them, they would lose the respect being accorded to them by the society and might even end up losing the power totally. In conclusion, just like the case of police and political leaders, people tend to accord more respect to people who exercise the power they have.