The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Whether the people who lived during the lifetime of an individual can ascribe greatness to such person or not is a difficult question to deal with. Some would argue that the greatness, or legendary status, of an individual can only be determined after the demise of such person. They would argue that it is only then that the life of the individual can be analysed with a holistic approach to decide where he/she falls. However, I am of the opinion that people who are contemporaries of a person can decide from what they have witnessed whether the life a person is living can be described as “great”.

A category of people that are right described as “great” are war veterans who have fought for the unity and continuity of their respective nations. Such individuals have put their lives on the line and it would be an injustice to not acknowledge their greatness when they are alive. Countries all over the world do confer titles and present medals to such individuals to show that they understand and appreciate the greatness of such individuals. This shows that it contemporaries of people who have patently done things that could be describes as great can and have been acknowledging that.

Just like war veterans, footballers are also a set of people that have always been described as great by their contemporaries as great. In fact, some individuals have gone on to coin the term “Greatest of all Time” to describe some living footballers in order to describe the greatness of such individuals. To pass the point even further, there are awards like World best player for the male and the female categories. What greatness can be more than been given the title of the world best player by experts in the field.

Although, some people like the a former military head of state of Nigeria, Muritala Muhammed, were not overwhelmingly described as great by their contemporaries until after their death, such situations are few to come by, perhaps that is because they have not done what can be incontrovertibly described as awesome when they were alive. In conclusion, the “football world”, lives of war veterans and other fields like science where scientists are awarded with Nobel Prize for world-changing discoveries have shown that individuals can be described as great by their contemporaries.