Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

It is a tenable fact that as corporations keep popping up every day, and their main aim and responsibility is to make as much income, and profit, as possible. However, it is very much important for organizations to come up with programs and ideas that would have positive impacts in the communities that they are situated due to the following reasons.

Various researches conducted have shown that the brand that a corporation creates has a long way in deciding the income of such corporations. One of the ways of promoting the brand of a corporation and making it robust is by engaging in philanthropic acts, and like the popular saying goes, charity begins at home. The need for such branding has led corporations like MTN is Nigeria to engage in philanthropic activities by offering undergraduate scholarship opportunities for the youths and some other programs that benefits the society at large. This in turn increases the acceptance level of the corporation and it is one of the most accepted brand in the country, thereby increasing the level of income the corporation generates. This shows corporations can end up benefitting even more when they give back to the immediate society.

Another reason why corporations should try to form a kind of “mutualistic relationship” with their environment is that such relationship increases the ease of operation for the corporation. For instance, in the early 2000s, oil companies in the Niger Delta area of Nigeria experienced difficulty in operations and there were various reports of pipeline vandalism because the indigineous community of the area thought the activities of the oil companies were of no advantage to them, perhaps, it is of disadvantage to them because of incidences of oil spillage and others, and they resulted into sabotaging the activities of the corporations. In order to make things right, the corporations met with the people in the society and came up with empowerment programs and Scholarship opportunities for the youth. With this, they were able to reduce clashes with indigineous communities to the minimum thereby reducing unnecessary wastage. Like that of MTN, this is another example of situation whereby giving back to the society has helped corporations.

Although there are situations whereby corporations have to focus on making as much as possible income in order to stay afloat, just like the Corona virus pandemic that lead many corporation to dismiss some of their staff. However, such scenarios are exceptional and in this case the corporations have to look at the bigger picture and survive in order to be there for the communities in the future. In conclusion, Corporations should focus on giving back to the society than making as much income as possible; this may even make such corporations earn more than they would have.