Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In response to the given statement I agree with the notion that governements should not fund researches with unclear consequences on account of following reasons that this futile process may result in wastage of money and manforce but also may hinder the tentative scientific progress and expose the community to unnecessary side effects.

The evolution of the mankind can greatly be attrubuted to the scientific progress the need of which has even more inceased given the increased and more complex nature of menances that our world faces today. In addition the sources of a governemnt to invest are not only a prestigious responsibility but also scarce enough necessasitating the best use of them in the develoment of the country and mankind as a whole.

The scientific research process consumes a lot of fninacial assets to be carried out and if the finance is invested in a futile process it would result in a loss of money which would otherwise be well spent in useful reaserach and betterment of the humanity.

Research does consume a great many scientific minds who have given their lives to the study and develoment of science and it is extremely important that their energy and time should be used in best interest of the nation. Creating a single scientist also puts a great burden on the finance of the country so wasting their efforts would also cause financial loss to the government.

Science is a platform of practicality and experimentation. It is based on probability and chances rather than miracles and intuition. In addition there is too much yet to be discovered today and we are in dire need of treatments to the epidemics, global warming, education and many other acute problems. If the time, energy and money is spent in blind alleys, it would cause a hindrance to the natural course of progression of science.

Most of the scientific experiments do not leave the environemnt the same as it was before and their adverse results can shape the ugly future for the humanity. One of the most important examples of this is the experiment with nuclear fusion and atom bombs. Each experiment not only destroyes a huge area of earth but also emits unending ionizing radiations that keep haunting the humans living around for generations ranging from gentic mutations to global warming.

A contrary argument might suggest that since a lot of past experiments whose results were unclear at the moment resulted in some of the greatest discoveries of science and that the scientific process is an unclear and experimental process so it should be let to take its course.

In conclusion given the fact that resources of a government are scarce in terms of finance, scientific workforce and time and that it results in unnecesary changes to the environment which mostly are adverse, hence the argument that governments should not fund the scientific research whose consequences are unclear holds good.