Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In today's world, scientific research has contributed majorly to the comfortable living that we enjoy. Right from developing the technology to the useful products that satisfy our basic amenities, scientific research has a significant role to play in them. Money that is needed to carry out the research is an inevitable issue and in most cases, Govenrments tend to be the primary source for the same.

The given view about Government funding the researchers is a controversial one and the term 'unclear' is ambiguous. By unclear, it could mean that the proposed research is not sure about the results to be encountered or it could also mean that the endpoint of a problem is known but it not sure as to landing at that point is possible or not. In the first case, it is not possible to persuade the Government to place its money a completely unresolved project whereas it might be reasonable to give the researchers a chance in the second case.

Research is defined as the systematic investigation into and study of materials and sources in order to establish facts and reach new conclusions. Thus only when the investigation is done the intended facts can be established. For carrying out the exploration process, resources are always needed which can only be obtained through money. Thus if a project is rejected outright by a Governmnt because of the fact that end result can also turn negative instead of positive, potential research outcomes may be stranded. Individual scientists may not always have the kind of money to cover for the variety of material products needed. Thus it is essential that they are aided with funds to help them bring about a new potential change.

All the technologies that have evolved over time might not have been possible without the help of Government funds. Scientists have build various spacecrafts and satellites using these funds. Some of them have proven to successful over an International level whereas a very few have known to be crashed. We have also encountered many faring chemicals and products that help sustain the crops well. Every project only had a view of what was going to happen but was never able to predict the final result. Still, they proved to be successful through investigation over time. The fact that the Government funds the project gives the researchers more confidence that they can meet the endpoint and also desire to ensure that the endowed trust is not thrown away.

Take the analogy of a computer science student. When he encounters a coding problem, he creates a mental idea as to how to solve it but is unsure whether as to the imagined method may result in the final positive solution. For him to carry out his method, he needs certain book resources to help him code and hence approaches his instructor for the same. If the instructor finds the method to plausible, he supplies the required books. On the other hand, if the instructor rejects the method outright but it may have been possible to solve the problem, then a potential solution is lost. This is the case with Government funding also.

On the other hand, it is possible that certain projects may lead to detrimental consequences. Take the case of development of nuclear products. It might me possible during the processing, certain chemicals may give rise to unintended negative reactions that might lead to destruction. It is also possible that the final product can be used for both useful and destructive purposes. Thus in these cases, the Government has to make a wise choice about funding.

From the above, it is seen that more than the fact that the results are unclear, the effects of the research are also to be taken into account. But its not a wise choice to always restrain from funding an unclear research as potential results may be lost which could have otherwise served useful purposes.