Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take In develo

The authors’ recommendation states that the government should offer college and university education free of charge to all students. Authors recommendation is not a feasible one because it has more demerits than merits if we adopt it. I disagree with the authors’ advice explaining the reasoning for the same.

The plan for free education creates a problem for funding universities. This plan is especially true in the current economic climate. The government afford to fund the universities to provide free education solely. Thus, the policy creates more financial problems for the government, for example, In the city like San francisco, which is very expensive to live. If the government adopts such a policy to provide free education in the towns like San francisco, the more significant part of the revenue from the tax will go to fund those universities leaving little room for providing different services.

Secondly, as students are also humans too, Humans have a tendency not to value something, if it doesn’t require any sacrifice on our side to gain it. The same analogy, the students, won’t appreciate the education much, and won’t invest their time learning those important things via learning provided by the university. For example, Taking the same standard as above for city, San francisco if the government invest a considerable part of their revenue in training the individuals to become the future of this world. If the students didn’t learn enough, that they can’t even apply what they have learned, it would be a waste of money, time and hard work behind training these young individuals.

However, the policy should be changed a little bit, like education should be free for those students who are in need off. The needy students are those who can’t attend the university they wish to pursue their studies on, because of financial constraints they have on them. For example, in the city of San Francisco, the minimum amount one needs to pursue master’s education would be around $70000, which is equivalent to INR 56 lacks, which is enormous for a lower- and middle-class family. Though some university does provide full fees relaxation to those brilliant students and their families by providing them with financial aid.

To sum up, the above recommendation is noble, but the unfeasible policy for the government, under the current economic climate. Free education should be provided to needy and meritorious students.