Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

The decision to attend a university is not a trivial one. Students spend the majority of high school trying to achieve the highest GPA, rack up the most unique extra-curricular activities, and maintain an excellent rapport with professors hoping that the fruits of their labor will be in the form of a stellar recommendation letter, or even a university acceptance. The prompt suggests that education should be provided free of costs to those students who have received admission to a university but are unable to pay for it themselves. While I understand there are limitations to this argument, I strongly do agree that underprivileged students' tuition should be sponsored for two reasons.

To begin, it is no secret that college education is extremely expensive; most families save meticulously over the course of years, even decades, to provide for their child's college tuition. Some families, however, live from paycheck to paycheck, lacking the privilege to be provident and cannot set up a savings account at all. Even if one were to assume that a student was saving up to pay for his or her own tuition, it is unlikely that he or she will even make a substantial amount above minimum wage. Suppose the son of a janitor and a housewife worked sedulously throughout high school with the goal of becoming a computer scientist. He applies to three colleges and gets selected by all, but cannot afford to attend any without financial aid, for which his applications were rejected. Considering the student showed dedication, passion, and the competency that qualifies him to attend the university, surely he would be an asset to the school's environment. At the end of the day, universities are focused on the contributions students can make on their campus, and if he adds value to the institute, then the opportunity should not be stolen from him due to his inability to pay.

Further, if the opportunity to specialize in a professional field continues to be taken away from lesser privileged students, then the gap between the rich and the poor would continue to expand. Especially in today's technological age, where the advent of Artificial Intelligence technology is replacing human jobs at a prolific rate, the risk of unskilled labor becoming obsolete runs rampant. For example, a high school senior may be working as a grocery shop clerk to save up for college but is fired after the store reallocates their wages into buying more automatic stack-and-scan machines. He not only loses his steady income but his only chance to attend college is stripped away from him. Wealthy students will only continue to pursue higher education, leaving the opportunities to advance in technological fields to a very specific socioeconomic group, while unskilled laborers are left without means, continuing to get poorer. Thus, providing free college education to students from lower socioeconomic backgrounds would ultimately be an investment, as overall specialization increases, and the potential for advancement does proportionally as well.

Some may argue that providing education to students unable to afford it may place an additional burden on the universities, the government, and taxpayers as well. While this is a valid concern, it provides a profitable return of investment in the long-term. As the level of education rises, new technology and innovation are introduced into society also allowing for new job opportunities. Consequently, the GDP of a country may rise, crime may decrease, and overall social welfare will have risen as well. Take the example of countries like Denmark: education until college is free, their GDP is excellent, and their population is one of the happiest in the world!

In conclusion, the issue of college affordability should not be what prevents someone from pursuing higher education. Ultimately, the investment of resources in children with potential, knowledge, and dedication is, undoubtedly worthwhile. The youth of today is our future, so to take a chance in them would be to take a chance in our future as well.