Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

The idea of a free university education sounds really amazing and would be good if it can be implemented, however, there are any complications that will arise in implementing it.

We all know that the students of now are the future of any nation. It should be a responsibility of government to provide basic education to all, so that everyone is literate and get a exposure to basics of logic and literature. However, providing free education to all the admits who cannot afford it can be quite impossible and bring in complications unthought of.

Firstly, university education is quite expensive. Students join university to hone their technical skills and excel at one thing. Providing such technical education for free will require huge amount of funding from the state. There can be some countries who might afford to do so, but talking in general, most of the countries will have other major priorities to fulfill than to provide free university education. For example, investment in infrastructures like road connecting major cities, hydro power plants etc. will accelerate the development of any country than its investment in education. Investment in education is important as well, but for countries with mid range economy, it will be hard to overlook all other present necessities and investment huge amount of money in free education. Furthermore, investment in infrastructure will increase the job opportunities for the students after job. So, taking up some loan in front for education will be worth it in such a scenario, where return on investment is secured once students complete their education. But simply funding education for all will be too much when a state has other priorities.

Secondly, the number of students which the state should fund has no limit. If all the students who are admitted to university cannot afford education, it will be almost impossible for the government to fund all the students. Moreover, what will be the matrix to determine whether a student can afford his education or not? If all students who cannot afford their education will be funded by the government , there will be rise in cases where students will feign their in-affordability to pay in order to secure the funding. Furthermore, it will be injustice to the students who are good at study , if other students who are not as good and who have not worked any hard get the scholarships. The scholarships thus should be provided on the basis of merit, students who cannot afford must work hard to prove themselves that they deserve funding. Providing such limited merit base scholarship not only will ease the financial burden but also trigger competency among students resulting in a good overall education.

Thirdly, fees for education in any university are there for a reason. Every university requires some amount to conduct there daily operations , maintain the facilities and to hire the best minds as faculties. Government funding will undermine these necessities. Moreover, providing full free education can hinder the quality of education that is provided in any university. Furthermore, there are other consequences that can result from such funding. For example, many students who have been awarded funding just because they could not afford it might grow complacent and may not clear the courses on time. This is where merit based scholarship will come handy.

In sum, though education is a necessary tool and everyone should have access to it, it should be limited to high school or other basic levels. Providing funding for scholarships in expense of spending in other development works will only impede the pace of development of any country. the best measure will then be to provide merit based scholarships for few where the under-previleged can also fight for.