Educational Institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

While it may seem obvious that dissuading the students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed will probably save them from failure and open a quest for new career path where they can succeed, but by no means we have any measures to predict one's professional success or failure. Had there been a perfect matrix to predict the future , it would have made sense. Educational institutions should rather urge the attempt and give students with proper environment to overcome their challenges.

Firstly, lets take an example of the college admission process. Most of the educational institutions have a very rigorous college admission process scrutinizing students earlier performance in their interested field of interest to select the most suitable candidate. Most of the admissions then become merit based, rejecting the unsuitable candidate. But by no means the rejected candidates can be labeled as unlikely to succeed. It's just that at the time of application they didn't meet the requirements or were less ready. In fact, there is no matrix developed yet to predict whether one will success in his career except in the rare cases of some physical and mental disabilities.

Moreover, success is largely dependent upon the work one puts in rather than any god-gifted ability. So, the past achievements or lack of achievements can only be a indicator to what one might achieve ahead in the worst case scenario. However,if one is determined to put in the work in order to be really good at something, achievement of success will only be a matter of time. This can be further supported by the example of Albert Einstein who was weak in mathematics when he was young but went on to become one of the greatest physicist the world has ever known. What a waste of talent it would have been had any educational institution dissuaded him to not pursue what he wanted.

Furthermore, it's the responsibility of the educational institutions to nurture the interest of the students despite their past lack of achievements. It's the responsibility of the educational institution to give proper environment and support and most of all understand what the student actually wants to pursue ahead. If the student is determined and is willing to put in the hard work , with the support of his/her school/college, s/he might one day surely succeed.

Finally, except in the rare and obvious cases of physical or mental disability, and only had there been a perfect matrix to predict the success or failure, the educational institution must not dissuade but rather support the student to get ahead and pursue what s/he wants. It's the hard work and determination that often matters more in predicting success than the past achievements or lack of achievements.