Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels.

The author is asserting that if skateboarding in Central Plaza is prohibited, business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high. The underlying though behind the author's assertion is that the growing popularity of skate users in plaza has resulted in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. While the concerns presented by the author is plausible but it needs more support to materialize. There are many more things to be looked for before we make such conclusion.

Firstly, the author presents a fact that over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing and states that this is mainly due to the growing popularity in skateboard users and the increase in litter and vandalism as a result of growing number of skateboard users in the plaza. There can be many reason to why the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been decreasing over the years. The author has not fully analyzed all the possibilities resulting the decline in number of shoppers. It might be that there has been new facilities build in the neighborhood competing with new plaza. These facilities might have provided shoppers with attractive offers due to which the previous Central Plaza shoppers now regularly shop in those facilities. May be the shopping experience in other facilities is better and this is the reason why shoppers prefer these facilities over the Central Plaza. These all factors must be taken into account to find out exact cause of the decline in number of customers.

Secondly, the author states that growing popularity of skateboarding has is somewhat related to the decrease in number of shoppers in Central Plaza. However, the author has no any evidence to prove that it is the cause in decline of shoppers. In contrast, the increasing popularity of skateboarding might have actually caused more shopkeepers to visit the Central Plaza, but the recovery of previous shoppers has been low in the plaza, that is why there is overall decrease in shoppers. If a place is so popular so something and so many people visit it, it should be a plus point for the Central Plaza. The number of skateboard buyers must have definitely increased in the plaza. However, there might be others reasons that are keeping the once visited customers from visiting again. May be the new staffs in the plaza are not that good to the customers. These all questions should be answered to confirm that the rise in skateboard popularity has actually resulted in decline in shoppers.

Thirdly, the author asserts that there has been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter & vandalism throughout the plaza. However, there is no concrete evidence to support that this has been caused due to the increase in skateboard user in the plaza. There can be a number of reasons to why litters and vandalism has increased in the plaza and many questions that needs to be answered. For example, there might have been no proper maintenance and cleanliness facility as before in the plaza as a result of decrease in sales. There will always be litter where there is crowd but it is the responsibility of the plaza to maintain cleanliness. Moreover, there might not be proper litter disposal in place in the plaza as it was before two years. These all things might account to increase in litter. Talking about vandalism, it can be that there is rise in such cases because there s no proper security in the Plaza. Or the local police is not that active in that reason so the people are less scared to committing crimes. These factors can also be the cause in increasing vandalism which the author has overlooked.

In sum, it can be that the increased litter and vandalism can be the cause decreasing the number of shoppers in the Central Plaza, but the author needs to properly investigate whether this is the only cause. Moreover, the author also needs to justify that these are solely caused by the increase in number of skateboard users.