Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

I mostly agree with the prompt's assertion that Goverment should place few, if any restrictions on scientific research and development for two reasons. However, I agree with the fact that effective cautions and guidelines should be made available for developers in order to prevent unwarranted problems.

First of all, Scientific discoveries are the backbone of developed countries, there cannot be any development without research. For instance, two years ago, there was an outbreak of a diseases called 'Corona Virus', this virus affected almost the whole world. No underdevolped country provided the cure to the disease because they dont have well equiped laboratory to carry out experiments and researches. China, United states and some other developed countries were able to provide solution to the problem beacuse thay had a well equipped scientists and developers.

Secondly, research majorly deals with the ability to think, which helps to improve the thinking prowess of individuals. Placing a high restrictions on reseach will surely discourage people that are passionate about locating problems and creating solutions to it. Take for example, students studing chemistry in the universities. Their thinking prowess can only be finetuned when they are exposed to different types of research, experiments, problems and so on. If they must be exceptional and useful to the nation then, they must be well equipped.

However, without proper mentoring and guidelines, research can lead to a waste of time and resources. For example, a tyro in the field of science, can mix some chemicals together and the end product can be deleterious to a whole community.

In conclusion, if the world as a whole must improve, it needs innovations which can be done by researchers and developers. They should be well equipped to carry out their operations but be well monitored and guilded.