great nation

Admittedly, it is plausible that a great nation can be determined by the welfare of that nation’s people in some cases. To be specific, according to the recent the global wellness index, Northern Europe countries such as Denmark, Sweden, and Finland came in high ranks. At the same time, there countries have developed economies and high standard of living in the world. This is because their social individual welfare policy enables stable jobs and regular incomes, which led to overall national wealth.

Nevertheless, not all general welfare can indicate the success of a nation. For example, the Great Britain during the Victorian era had considered as a great and powerful nation in the world. This was possible because of Industrial Revolution. James Watt's steam engine made this possible to change hand production methods to machines, which led to an increase in efficiency and productivity. This brought great wealth and property to Britain. However, at the same time, the working people had to struggle with hazardous working condition such as long working hours, irregular breaks and even child labor. In this context, it is difficult to argue that the general welfare shows a great nation.

Furthermore, the achievements of leaders and general welfare is not always mutually exclusive in indicating the success of a nation. For instance, Emancipation Proclamation by Abraham Lincoln successfully brought freedom to thousands of slaves. Moreover, it brought gradual changes in general public’s conception regarding the way they felt with the ownership of slaves. This equal citizenship and wellbeing of general public made it possible to regard the United States as a great nation. However, at the same time, it would not have been possible without Lincoln’s devotion and his achievement.

Furthermore, the success of a nation and the welfare of public is not always mutually exclusive. This is because the achievements of a leader can have a positive impact on people's lives. For instance, Emancipation Proclamation by Abraham Lincoln successfully brought freedom to thousands of slaves. Also, it brought about gradual changes in general people's conception regarding the way they felt with the ownership of slaves. This equal citizenship and freedom enabled to regard the United States as one of great countries in the world. However, it would have been impossible without Lincoln's devotion and achievement.