A lot of high school students now cheat in homework assignments, by asking other students for answers. Which of the following do you think is the most efficient way to stop?

-asking parents to help stop the students from cheating

-penalty or punishment to the students

-asking teacher to create homework assignment that cannot be easily cheated

Some people think that the most efficient and effective way to stop cheating in homework assignment is parents’ help to stop the students from cheating or penalty, while others think that homework assignment which is difficult to cheat can hinder cheating. If forced to choose one over others, my resolute standpoint is in line with giving creative assignment which is not easy to copy other students’ answer. There are several reasons as follows.

First of all, if homework assignment is difficult to cheat, there is no need to ask other students for answers. To be specific, writing an essay rather than multiple choice type questions is likely to copy other students’ answer because there is no answer for writing their thought. For example, I want to compare two cases of myself and my sister. We went to different schools which had different approach on cheating. First, I will explain the school I enrolled in. To stop cheating on homework assignment, teachers made open questions which do not have exact answers so that students had to state their own reasoning for the homework, which made copying other students’ answer meaningless. Furthermore, this led to higher enthusiasm which also worked as a driving force for them to put more effort into their tasks. Through trials and errors, students can have a deep understanding of their studies. On the contrary, my sister’s school asked their student’s parents help to stop them from cheating and they announced that students who cheated their homework would be kicked out. However, the school overlooked the fact that most high school students are in adolescent age; thus, parent’s suggestion might be regarded as an intervention. Also, punishment was effective only in the case that school found the student who cheated, otherwise, lots of students kept cheating their homework. This experience taught me that students need more creative and open questions rather than punishment or parent’s advice.

All things considered, I strongly believe that the advantages of making open type questions far outweigh those of penalty or parent’s help to prevent cheating for the reasons I have mentioned in the above.