A lot of high school students now cheat in homework assignments, by asking other students for answers. Which of the following do you think is the most efficient way to stop?  1)asking parents to help stop the students from cheating  2)penalty or p

There are many ways to avoid cheating in homework assignments by asking other students for answers, which seems effective in first glance. However, in my opinion, providing punishments for cheating is the most efficient way to stop.

First of all, providing punishments for cheating could help students fundamentally acknowledge their incorrect behavior and the harm of cheating. Because students cheat in their homework assignments, teachers would give them some punishments such as providing more assignments for them to do or subtract their scores of the final grade of the course, which would spend them more considerable time and efforts to complete extra assignments or affect their GPA, so they would not cheat in their assignments any more. For example, my roommate Jackie cheated in his homework of programming language course last semester by copy answers from others. After realizing his unhonest behavior, the professor gave him an extra assignment, a coding program which consists of one thousand lines of code. Due to his cheating, he spent more one-week time to finish this extra assignment and he completely understand that cheating is a terrible behavior. After that, he never cheat again and study pretty arduously. Therefore, providing punishment for cheating would help students understand the key of the problem and efficiently avoid this phenomenon.

Moreover, asking parents to help and making teachers giving other homework assignments are not viable. Because in the former method, parents cannot supervise their children at any time. So students still have opportunities to cheat. Plus, if parents really have much time supervising students, it would be a significant burden for parents, which is not efficient. On the other hand, if teachers or professors give other kinds of homework such as subjective problems, which is difficult for students to cheat. Of course, students may not ask their classmates for answers. Nevertheless, they could use smartphones or computers to search the questions online and obtain the answers, which is also inefficient. For instance, my brother John cheated in his homework on mathematics last week. Then the school commend his parents to supervise him. However, our parents still have their works to do, so they do not have sufficient time to ask the studying situation of my brother and my brother still cheat sometimes on his assignments even on exams. Consequently, parents' help and changes of questions would not crucially resolve the problem and cheating behaviors would not be avoided efficiently.

In sum, giving penalty or punishments could fundamentally solve the cheating problem by engender students realize the severity and other two methods would transiently improve the situation, but untenable.