university

The author argues that university should require all students to take courses outside of their major. While the author’s assertion may be supported in certain cases, this may not always be the case.

Admittedly, taking courses from other fields can be beneficial to students under certain circumstances. By studying a variety of courses students can study their own majors more effectively with different perspectives from other disciplines. Take the students majoring in economics as examples. By taking courses in international studies, Economics majors can have a deep understanding of successful trade policies between nations, which is the fundamental concept in economics. Moreover, in today’s fast-evolving and competitive job market, students who have a diverse set of skills can gain a competitive edge. Through courses on foreign language such as Chinese, Economics students can also develop the ability to communicate in a second language which is becoming imperative in the increasingly integrated global business community. As the examples clearly illustrate, taking courses from outside can help students to study their own majors more effectively and to be more competitive job applicants.

Despite the above discussion, not all students should be forced to take courses outside of their field of study. Making such policy mandatory might result in undesirable setbacks. First, additional courses could mean an increase in tuition because most tuition is usually based on a per-unit fee. Some students have student loans to pay off their tuition. If they required to take courses outside their major, tuition may rise which may become a financial burden. Students who are pressured by mounting debt may get distracted and even lose motivation to study hard. Second, not all students benefit from studying subjects from disparate fields. For example, student-athlete who have short career spans they should focus on their training rather than take courses that do not help them improve their record.

Based on the above discussion, there is no denying the fact that having extensive knowledge is beneficial to university students. However, not all students benefit from taking courses that are not related to their major. Thus, it seems adequate that university should give students the option to select courses they wish to study.