bicycle

In the given memo, it is recommended that the government should concentrate on educating people about bicycle safety and less on requiring bicyclists to use helmets to decrease the number of serious injuries. While it seems plausible at some points, it relies on several questionable assumptions.

First of all, the author assumes that the number of people who use helmets increased, however, it may not be the case. A percent increase does not necessarily mean that an increase in numbers. It is possible that the total number of bicyclists increased surprisingly and thus today the rest 20 percent of people who still do not wear helmets might be bigger than the number of people who did not use helmets ten years ago. It seems reasonable that there are more chances of bicycle-related accidents because there are more people who do not use helmets. Thus, further evidence such as accurate statistical data about bicycle related accidents are required to evaluate the author's claim.

Furthermore, the author's argument is based on the assumption that an increase in bicycle helmet usage led to an increase in accidents because bicyclists take more risks, however, it is not warranted. It is possible that there might be other causes that increased the number of accidents such as intensified traffic due to the increased number of bicyclists, poor road condition and so on. Accordingly, the author should consider other factors could affect the number of accidents.

Even though the author was proven right on the above points, it still depends on questionable assumption that wearing helmets increased the number of serious injuries. The author did not present any relevant data indicating seriousness of injuries. increased the number of bicycle-related accidents does not mean that the seriousness increased as well. It is possible that thanks to the helmet, even though the number of accidents increased, the serious injuries might be decreased. Therefore, the evidence pertaining to the seriousness of accidents should be provided to assess the author's argument.