The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries

The author of the issue states that the greatest achievements made by individuals should be tested by time, and judged by the descendants instead of the people living in the same age. At first glance, this statement seems reasonable and a lot of giants of different field, especially art, came into my mind, like Van Gogh. After deeply thinking, I am, however, to a great extent of the conviction that the greatness of individuals can be decided by their contemporaries, who, in sometims, are more qulified to do so.

By and large, it is established beyond doubt that a majority of great accomplishments are achieved when we are trying to solve the big, current problems facing us directly. Therefore, the comtemporaries of the problem-solver are the direct beneficiary. A few decades ago, as a country with a population of more than one billion, the biggest problem facing China was how to grow enough crops to feed her people. Yuan Longping, whose name has been familiar to everyone in China nowaday, spared no effort working at the farmland and making hybrid experiment, and finally cultivated the productive hybird rice sucessfully, which has benefit people from all over the world. In this case, Yuan made a great difference to the people living in his age. No one other than Yuan's comtemporaries can decided his greatness.

Another reason that cannot go unnoticed is that in some fields, greatness can be regreded and be made use of at the time they come up. As a tangible example, Isaac Newton had been regarded as a great physics and mathematician at his time since the rules of kinesiology and the tools of calculus he discovered were applied to find the law of celestial bodies' movement and solve analytic geometry immdiately. These kinds of achievement can be examintated by experiments or careful calculation, not necessarily wait till like a century to be tested as truth.

However, what I alluded to above does not draw the whole picture. In some case, especially when people are fettered by past experience or knowledge, restrained by authority, some great accomplishments do not get fair recognition at their time. For example, Hipposus, who discoveried the irrational number, dropping a big boom to the mathematics world, was thrown into the sea by the followers of Pythagorean School. Simlarily, Darwin got a lot of taunt and unjust treatment from the believers of god at his time for his evolution theory. Indeed, greatness like these only can be decided by people with opener mind and more knowledge living after them. But what I want to rebuke is that, as our societies are becoming more and more pluralistic, people try to treat things with more and more citical mind, I believe that great ahcievements won't wait a long to be recognised.

In light of the reason elaborated, I reiterate that greatness of individuals can be decided by their contemporaries, because those are exactly the ones who witness the achievement and get benefits from them. What's more, like the gold on the sand, a lot of accomplishments can be regconised immediately.