Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Which criterion should be given more weight when college students are assessing the field of study? There are two seemingly contradictory views on this question. One sides argues that college students should put propriety on their talent while the other proclaim that the job-oriented should be first considered. However, both these views have merit, I argue that they are not constituting an irreconcilable dichotomy. Therefore, I tend to presume that this two seemingly irrelevant choices can be combined.

On one hand, I concede that the job-oriented majors cater for the demand of market and therefore college students should take it into consideration deliberately. In other words, those major can create personal value in the job market by virtue of the fact that it provides skills and knowledge which directly links with the highly want of company. In addition, for some students with financial difficulties, major on the availability of jobs can offer them dreaming jobs as soon as possible, which can be transferred in to money, solving the urgent problems. For example, fields of study such as accounting, human resource and fundamental social practice, in accordance with the basic demand of almost every enterprise in the society, can accelerate their process of hunting for a high-paid job. In the contrary, some theoretic subjects like philosophy, quantum physics or sociology cannot be turned into a compromising career in a confined period. Thus, it is advisable for college students to choose field of study based on the job availability, especially for those in need of quick money.

In the great contrast, students who believe that choosing major should depend on their talent and interests should be greatly encouraged with both substantial and reputation because their choices represents what university study and spirit ought to be. In other words, I assumes that, if we just want to learn a job-oriented major and turn it into a well-paid job, there is no need for us to enter university, because the ordinary school focusing on practical skills can also impetus to do so. As a result, this assumption brings back to the very rudimentary question, which is, why we enter in to university? From my point of view, the answer should be self-exploration and self-consciousness. From this perspective, college student’s individual preference should be emphasized precedent during the campus time. That being said, the process of choosing major is equate to the struggling of self-enlightenment, and the result, whatever is our interest or talent, should be something that will let us shine. Only in this way can we acknowledge what we should learn and how we should do in the university. Therefore, if possible, choosing interest-oriented major should be highly advocated in the university, due to its imperfection of the meaning of further study in university.

In conclusion, the above-stated examination of the two view discloses my appreciation for both of them. Nevertheless, this is not to say that I suggest appraising these two perspective in isolation. Rather, I would like to view the process of choosing field as a continuum that includes choosing field based on interest and talent as well as job availability. That being said, transformation of interest-oriented to meet the demand of job-availability in the career market might need more deliberation during the process of study.