Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In recent years, the globalization has extended its way to the whole world profoundly. This development of global hodgepodge can be also applied to the university academic learning. Thus, there is a saying that the university should allow every student to have international study in the foreign institutions at least for one semester because it can benefit students from many aspects. From my point of view, a sincere suggestion though it is, it may increase some unnecessary burden for students with financial difficulties. Therefore, it may violate the very original intention.

In the first place, I cannot agree more with the recommendation that university should at least provide the opportunities for those students who are interested in intercultural study to go abroad. As the tendency of global cohesion, there is an increasingly urgent need for the contemporary undergraduates to get knowledge of the multicultural information in order to cater for the further learning or career. Another reason for international study is that it will expand the student’s horizon and promote their culture appetite. Furthermore, it is no deniable that a colorful international study in the foreign countries, sometimes with anecdotes and difficulties overcoming will definitely spice up the mundane campus life and make a significant trace on the life resume, which may be a life fortune. As a result, if possible, going abroad for international study should be supported and be given priority by the university and colleges.

However, by stating that international study is of vital importance does not mean that all the students in the university must have such experience by virtue of that there are many different circumstances. For example, students with financial difficulties may not want to go international study because it will put more pressure on their families. Besides, there is of equal possibility that students focusing on the career-oriented further does not desire to go abroad because it provides no utility for them. Thus, we can see that requiring all the students to spend time and money on foreign study without selection is unpractical and a waste of educational resource.

To better solve this problem, I argue that the university should implement the institution and system and provide the appropriate scholarship in order to make sure that each student's particular circumstance is covered. On the one hand, for those students with excellent academic performance but short of money, the university should offer appropriate scholarship after a series of examination. One the other hand, for those undergraduates both with highly demand and interest in multicultural study and fine economic basis, opportunities as much as possible should be given to. In addition, for those neither supported with money nor interest in international experience, university may not need to require them to go abroad. In one word, whether university should require students to go abroad should rely heavily on the very need of individual students by considering the practical conditions.

To sum up, while it seems like a good idea for university students to go international study by virtue of expanding their eyesight, feeling different studying atmosphere and spicing up campus life, there is no exaggeration to say that not every student should doing so due to the different personal further development and practical family support, which, the university should take into serious consideration. Therefore, to better address this recommendation, it is of profound necessity for university to evaluate different students’ condition in order to make deliberate decisions.