Claim: The surest indicator of a great nation must be the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

Reason: Great achievements by a nation's rulers, artists, or scientists will ensure a good life for the majority of that nation's people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Nowadays, there is a controversial issue about what the surest indicator of a great nation should be.Some people may claim that the greatest nation lies heavily in its rules, artists, and scientists by virtue of their contribution to the country, which will ensure a good life for the majority of the nation's people. As far as I am concerned, while it may well to premise the statement at the first glance, I do not want to maintain that the great achievement by a nation's rulers, artists and scientists is the only indicator of a great nation.

In the first place, I have to admit that the great achievement and effectiveness of the nation's ruler definitely have a significant impact on the development of the nation. Leader's accomplishment can be examined by his citizens because they are always in accordance with each other. For example, after the economic crisis in America, it is president R that led his people towards rejuvenating the economic situation. The undeniable accomplishment, New Deal, has benefited numerous American people to help them get back confidence for life. Thus, we can proclaim that the rulers effectiveness can ensure the people's good life.

In addition, another compelling argument is that the contribution that artists and scientists strive for also comes up with an influential nation. That is to say, without the effort from artists and scientist, there is no possibility that the inner beauty of the country will be explored and the potentially multiple competence will be developed. For example, since the famous Chinese author Mo Yan’s has won the Nobel Prize, mountains of followers starts apprehending Chinese literature in a new way, which not only spreads the Chinese culture to the world, but also cultivate the reading habits. Such example can also be easily applied to the scientific field. Without any exaggeration, the advanced technology by scientists acclaims the competence of the nation in the global stage, such as highly developed military force and medical treatment. Thus, the artist and scientist's effort to the nation also should be given emphasis as indicator of a great nation.

However, by stating that the great nation can be ascribed to the profound contribution by rules, artists and scientists does not mean that the good life of people can be ensured only by their struggling. In other words, the claim that the surest indicator of a great nation must be the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists does not always hold true. From my point of view, we cannot ignore that the well-being of people is playing an increasingly indispensable role in measuring the greatness of the nation. According to what president Lincoln has said --- of the people, with the people, for the people, we can see that the well-being of citizen has become an indispensable and significant indicator of a great nation.

To sum up, given the reason above, we may safely draw a conclusion that the great achievement by a nation's rules , artists, and scientist will ensure a good life of people from both the economic competence and the cultural side. However, crucial though aforementioned factors are, we cannot ignore the increasingly important effect of the well-being of the people on the measurement of a great nation.