The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their

contemporaries.

Human history and present have been gifted with great individuals who, from time to time have worked for the betterment of our society. These individuals have been feted for their services in the same era and unfortunately, in some cases, after their demise. While there are several instances of the former case, the instances of later are rare, and mostly date back to days before technology-driven society. Let us discuss these aspects in detail.

First, let us try to find out the reason of why it is that in some case, when an individual gets recognition when she is still alive, and why in some other case, she does not. For example, if the work of an individual is scientific or economic, it would be to say a least, they will get some king of recognition if her work is truly worth of. There might be concerns against her theory or her proposed prepositions, but people do recognize the effort to be notable, and then focus all the attention to scrutinize the work till it becomes reproducible and found veritable. When such process happens on a time scale smaller than the course of a normal human life, it becomes an instance of the former while in vice versa, it becomes an instance of the latter.

To strengthen the points that a large of discoveries made by scientist are recognized by contemporaries, take an example of the famous physicist Einstein. Even though his idea significantly challenged the contemporaries theories, the fellow scientists saw merits in his proposition. Take another example of Darvin who put forward the idea of evolution. This case was even more serious than the Einstein case as his theories contradicted with the widely-established Christian doctrinaire. Nevertheless, his theories met advocates in the scientific community, and he became a great contributor to a field which is now the basis of the biology science.

Similar examples can be found in business area. Instances here are more suggestive of the former case where an individual has a ground-breaking idea and becoming a major influencer, as business tycoons do not have to wait for their demise for their recognition. The leaders in

Tech giants such as Bill gates and Steve Jobs found their ground-breaking idea meeting suitable recognition in their life.

While from these instances illuminates the one side of the argument, in some cases, great individuals were recognized after their demise. For instance, the Pythagoras theorem. The theorem is now a basis of elemental geometry, were once unnoticed unless after thousand years after his demise, people actually recognized the importance of such a theorem. Similarly, other great individuals such as Aristotle and Galileo , who now are referred as fathers of their respective fields faced resistance from their contemporaries. Such instances were mostly due to the absence of scientific reasoning. Since in the twenty-first century, a large number of people believe in science, and logics, and rational arguments, it is unlikely that a great piece of work, whether it is in the field of science, arts, law or economics, will go unnoticed by the contemporaries.

In summary, I believe the assertion to be based on a few instances that are either rare or antiquated to the days before technology, and hence does not evince the true picture. On the other, there are ever-increasing instances of cases where people recognize the greatness of the individuals before their demise.