If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable.

Goals are indisputable part of human life. They provide one with a constant source of what must be look forward to. Achivening them generally provides one with a sense of completeness, a pleasure and a joy. An individual can have many goals: Some for himself, some for his family and friends, and some for the society. However, when it comes to defining what goals are worth toiling our night for, and giving all of oneself towards achieving them, one must consider following points. As you will see while I discuss what goals are worth achievable, and how far one could go without affecting herself and her society, it becomes clear that one cannot go any distance to achieve all of her goals.

First, let us consider what goals are worth achieving. While an individual must have a liberty to define her own goals, the fact that we are a part of big society where everyone could get affected with the doing of the others, we could arguably agree on following: One cannot have goals that either harm herself or the society. Moreover, one cannot go to any distance to achieveing any part of such goals. This looks so simple having said like that. Then why in the reality, we have so many problems. It appears that because of conflicts in what one sees as good for the society is considered bad by the others. Such conflicts give rise to terrorism, where a terrorist group takes a big proud in folowing what they consider to be true, while for the rest of the society, it is completely insensible and pernicious.

Now, let us come to goals that could be found more in everyday's life. As a career choice, one could dream of becoming businessman, or a doctor, or a scientist. These goals are generally beneficial to the individual as well as the society. Least, if they do not do anything benefecial, they do not harm the socity. It folows immediately that one actually could go to quite a distant in achieveing such goals in todays's competitive world. But again, there are limits on what means could be used to achive these goals. The rules are simple and abide by a general fact: Whatever one does to achieve her goals, one must see if the others are getting affected negatively, and if one is harming or impeding others growth. An additional concern, perhaps as important as the previous point, one should really look after herself while achieving the dreams. Inanity and never-giving up attitude only goes to a limit after which the decline in the personal development commences.

Last, consider some bigger goals. For example, limiting the carbon foortprints, and stopping global warming. These are the immediate needs of the society, and hence, should come,if not at the top in everyone's priority list, at least in the list somewhere. Even such goals that appear to be of such noble benefits should have their limitation. For example, one should be wary of rules and regualtions in excoriating big companies that are major drivers of global warming. One cannot just devoide them of their own goals and dreams of running their companies.

In summary, while goals are major driver of personal as well as societal development, everybody as individuals and a society should be mindful of the sphere of other goals, and in moral and ethics in general. I would like to end my disucssion with a quote (Unfortunately I do not remember the author!): Success comes to to those who belive in the beauty of their dreams and goals.