A nationwide survey reveals that the two most-desired home features are a large family

room and a large, well-appointed kitchen. A number of homes in our area built by our

competitor Domus Construction have such features and have sold much faster and at

significantly higher prices than the national average. To boost sales and profits, we should

increase the size of the family rooms and kitchens in all the homes we build and should

make state-of-the-art kitchens a standard feature. Moreover, our larger family rooms and

kitchens can come at the expense of the dining room, since many of our recent buyers say

they do not need a separate dining room for family meals.

The author suggests to increase the size of the family room and the kitchen in order to increase the sales and profit. To support her suggestion, she has provided two evidences: First, a number of homes in her area have features like a large family room and a kitchen; Second, many of their recent buyers have suggested that they do not need a separate dining room for family meals, and the money saved from avoiding making a dining room can be used to compensate the increased cost of a large family room and a large kitchen. While both of these evidence seem to bolster the suggestion at first glance, a closer inspection reveals that these evidences as such are subject to doubt, and therefore, insufficient to support such a major suggestion.

First, while it is clear from the nationwide study that people, in general, desire a large family room and a large kitchen, it is not clear from the cited example that the doing so actually resulted in the more profit. The sales may have accelereted, but it is not obvious if the profits have increased too. It is equally likely that the expenditures to make such ammendments were far more than the increased selling price. Thus, the knowledge of the actual profit made must be availbale to base the suggetion using this example.

Further, even if one assumes that the profit has indeed increased, we do not know if this is entirely because of the large family room and the large kitchen. The passage does not clarify if these were the only changes made. For example, Domus construction may have provided some other attention-seeker facillities such as a garden pool or a sophisticated balcony, that may have a substantial effect on the house's popularity and consequently on the increased sale. Hence, it is of primary importance to know if the observed effects, at best, could wholly be attributed to these changes alone.

Second, while some recent buyers are okay with not having a separate room for dining, it is not true that it will be the case for other buyers as well. The individual preference, in general, could vary a lot, and the passage does not clarify on this subject at all. Hence, it is of utmost important to determine the views of potential buyers in general to decide if the omission of a separate room for dining room could be avoided. Moreover, even if one assumes that this is the case, the passage does not give any quantitative information on whether the saving made from avoidig a dining room can actually compensate for the proposed changes.

In summary, one could see that the presented evidences are insufficient to justify such an important decision. I have pointed at various places what one must know to be fully sure that the proposed suggestion will result in the increased sale and the increased profit in the reality.