"A nationwide survey reveals that the two most-desired home features are a large family room and a large, well-appointed kitchen. A number of homes in our area built by our competitor Domus Construction have such features and have sold much faster and at significantly higher prices than the national average. To boost sales and profits, we should increase the size of the family rooms and kitchens in all the homes we build and should make state-of-the-art kitchens a standard feature. Moreover, our larger family rooms and kitchens can come at the expense of the dining room, since many of our recent buyers say they do not need a separate dining room for family meals."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The manager of the construction company has claimed that the sales and profits will boost, if they modify their pattern of home building, by increasing the size of family room and kitchen, thereby eliminating dining hall from their plan. The manager of construction company has cited this conclusion based on the evidence from their competitor construction company which has sold its home unit much faster and with higher profit by adopting different strategy and also he has come to the conclusion based on the nationwide survey report on some random article along with their recent buyer feedbacks. However, before his recommendation are made, three question ought to be answered thoroughly.

First of all, how wise is it to change working policy of its company based on the market available random survey's report? Infact, the survey accuracy, nature of sample and method of surveying has not been clearly mentioned in the article. For an instance, the survey team might have asked its question with leading way resulting the answer biased and prejudiced one. There are maximum chances that the survey question might not have been asked to proper sample group i.e people who want to buy house in near future, or the surveyor might have asked question to the individual who is living in a joint family needing a big size kitchen. So, if either these condition has merit, then conclusion drawn on original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, how approprirate is it to compare the business model of competitor construction company to its own based on its sale frrequency and selling price higher than average one? Infact, the business model, its working mechanism might be totally different than the author's business. For an instance, the operating cost and the fixed cost of rival business might have been high,or the investment to revenue ratio might have been higher than the author business. Thus, the idea of adjusting one's business based on apparent profit that other company might or might not have generated from its increased sale is very absurd. In an ideal condition increased number of sales result increased profit, but,if reality is such that there are operational cost and several other high investment required to make a product sold in a market. Hence, the assumption the author has made based on this evidence seems speculous.

Furthermore, changing its format of work and long term plan based on few buyers response is not quite wise. The buyer who had recently bought the home from them might have come from different sets of background but assuming the homogenity in the customers need is not a good business strategy. There are diverse customers who might want the home having large dining hall . For an instance, the expansion of kitchen might cost hugh compared to the dining as the modular kitchen these days cost higher which might increase the investment thereby casuing loss to company. So, the decision should be made by throughly assessing the risk and proper cost estimation. Otherwise, the plan if changed based on this unwarrented assumption might lead to a big loss for the company.

In this way, the author should thoroughly do the risk assessment and financial projection of cost and revenue before changing its working model and unwarrentedly simulating its competitor business model. If these questions are properly assessed and plan if made by considering holisticly then the company profit might boost in future.