Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People communicate with each other less than in the past because of the popularity of television. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Communication is the way of expressing people's opinion or ideas verbally or non- verbally through

different means. Some people believe that communication between people has become less frequent

than it used to be in the past due to television popularity. But I disagree with the statement as

television's popularity has increased the level of communication between two individuals or among a

group of people. I will be elaborating the reason for this in the following essay below.

First, television's popularity has led to globalization. In other words, the introduction of television has

brought a lot of issues, news and global things that are just happening among the people. This

introduction of all around stuff has increased the need to communicate with other people. By the nature

of humans, we are curious to listen to other opinions and, most importantly, more excited to share what

we know or think. For an instance, i heard the news of Greta Thunberg and her climate activism

through television. This led me to create a discussion forum in my university where our student club

organized a debate forum on whether the climate change issue is important to discuss in our

country/city. So, my personal experience is a compelling example of the fact that the popularity of

television has created more communication opportunities than in the past.

Furthermore, communication is not only formal communication. It can be informal and one on one

communication between two individuals. Additionally, tv dramas and shows are interesting to watch as

there is more hype on television. Also, the popularity of television these days has resulted in T.V in each

household/home, which makes it possible for them to be entertained with the daily shows. As people

has different taste in tv shows it result them to discuss their favorite tv show with their colleague,

friend, or family. For instance, i watch tv show called Big Bang Theory daily and my friend from my class

too watches the series. So, it is pretty fun to gossip the timeline, plot and character of shows with them.

As a matter of fact, we discuss the earlier day plot each day in our canteen. This has led us to

communicate more than the usual.

Hence, it is clear like a day to me that the popularity of television has created more opportunities for

communication between people. Some people, however, think that television keeps a person busy and

engaged so much that they do not have free time to connect and communicate with others. But i totally

disagree with this and i have explained it in the above paragraph.