"Your recent article on corporate downsizing* in Elthyria maintains that the majority of competent workers who have lost jobs as a result of downsizing face serious economic hardship, often for years, before finding other suitable employment. But this claim is undermined by a recent report on the Elthyrian economy, which found that since 1999 far more jobs have been created than have been eliminated, bringing the unemployment rate in Elthyria to its lowest level in decades. Moreover, two-thirds of these newly created jobs have been in industries that tend to pay above-average wages, and the vast majority of these jobs are full-time."

*Downsizing is the process whereby corporations deliberately make themselves smaller, reducing the number of their employees.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the article published in a local newspaper, it is stated that the opponent of author of the article of corporate downsizing has been undermined by the report on elthyrian economy. The evidence for the rebuttle of the claim is based on the incresased jobs in market compared to that of eliminated and waning rate of employment in Elthyria in recent decades. However, before the evidence can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, is the report representative enough in regard to the hardship faced by the worker? In other words, the author of article has stated about the economic hardship which can be abstract in its term.It is not clearly stated that the indicator of hardship and how they are weighted in terms of loss in their jobs and its post effect. It is possible that the report and the question might have been asked to the people in the situation where they are not comfortable in answering with- thus leading the answer to be biased.If either of these scenario has merit, then the argument has been seriously weakened.

Secondly,Is it not possible that the population might have been increased since last 1999? In other words, the report has not mentioned anything about the concomitant increase in the jobless people in Elthyria. It is possible that the number of jobs might have been increased but it cannot be ignored that the demand of job has been increased which might have further worsen due to corporate downsizing as a result the apparent increase in job cannot cannot supersede the demand. Also, the report has not given statistical data of number of jobs created and jobs eliminated likewise. For an instance, the job might have been created by 40% which is definitely greater than past history but the rate of jobless people might have been 60% which results 20 % of people to suffer from economic hardship. Thus, if the answer of these questions were properly addressed in a report then the evidence would have bolstered the argument made by the opponents.

Similarly, the opening of job in industries paying above average wage rate with full time mode is feasible for majority of people who has lost their job? In other words, the industries are generally in industrial area far away from residential where the people working in industry, full time might not be feasible in day to day basis. Its likely that increased opening of job will increase the employement opportunity but the competent worker's skill as said by the author might not parallel with the created jobs requirements and nature. Also, the nature of work of industrial opening has not been clarified in the report. In an ideal world, a person might be a jack of all, but for a certain corporate job one should be adept of knowledge regarding the field one works in. Thus, until the clarity of evidence is found, these mentioned evidence seriously weaken the argument presented by the opponent.

In conclusion, the argument,as it stands now, is considerably flawed, and the evidence are not clear enough to support the argument. And the unwarrented assumption if made on such evidence can seriously hamper the argument. But if the opponent can provide ample evidence beside these weaker one, then it will be possible to predict the effect of downsizing on people's life accurately.