The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulty obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our popular alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. Given the outcry from our customers when we discontinued this product and the fact that none of our competitors offers a comparable product, we can expect pent-up consumer demand for our alpaca coats. Due to this demand and the overall increase in clothing prices, we can predict that Sartorian's alpaca overcoats will be more profitable than ever before."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufacture men's clothing has recently circulated a memo. The vice president has claimed to resume the production of Sartorian's alpaca coat, assuming that it will yield more profit to the firm than ever. The claim has been made on the evidence that no other comparable product has been able to be brought by competitors in market. Also,the high demand of alpaca coat back from five years ago has been taken as an evidence to support this claim. However, the market demand of alpaca coat is still the same as five years ago period? and the quality of fiber from new fabric supplier is qualitative enough to make the similar alpaca coat that were demanded five years ago which was prepared from different wool fabric supplier? Is the fashion trend of men's clothing always constant? Inorder to evaluate the prediction made in the memo ,these three questions need to be answered critically.

First of all,Is the market demand of clothing's, five years ago and now, comparable?and the customer that were regular to the alpaca coat are still sticking to alpaca coat or has they shifted to other clothing? In fact, the customers preference keeps changing with time and brand in market. Although, the alpaca coat five years ago was dominant in market, there is minimum possibility that the legacy still similar. Because yearly different clothing brand are brought up in market causing customers to wander from one brand to another. So, the proper study of market and thorough market research seems very important before resuming the production of this coat. If above described points has merit, then the claim and prediction can go wrong.

Secondly, Is the alpaca coat from different fabric wool supplier, still provides similar satisfaction to customers?Definitely not. The change in the quality of supplied material results different quality product. It might be the possible that the demand of alpaca coats were higher in past because of the very typical material of wool of the coat. It is likely to happen that the customers are dissatisfied with the new material coat, resulting low marketability. In the ideal world, the customers stay loyal to one typical brand for years, but in real wolrd custoemrs preference keeps changing. This might result the low demand of product in market. Thus, the prediction made on the basis of the evidence of earlier material wool coat might go wrong and prove disadvantegous to the firm.

Also, the study has not been done about why the competitor has not brought any product similar to market?It might be possible that there is no demand at all in market regarding the coat. Or the fashion trend might have been changed which caused them to halt its production. Without any proper evaluation of competitors market, such prediction seems to be very risky. The competitor might not have been able to bring comparable coat , however, there is high chances that some other clothing substituting the alpaca wool cloth like silk coat, jackets might have been well sold in the market with high margin of profit. So, the thorough analysis of recent market, customers preference and competitors status is prime before the prediction are to be made.

In conclusion, it seems that the prediction likely to be profitable in future, however, the evidence in the memo has not yet proved to be strong enough. Thus, the evidence supporting the recent market demand of alpaca coat if gleaned through research then the prediction made by vice president is likely to be proved profitable.