The human mind will always be superior to machines because machines are only tools of human minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Some people hold the view that the human intellect will always be superior to machines as machines are created by humans, while other people are worried about the threat machines pose to human beings because the development of machines enable them to master thinking ability. From my point of view, I fully agree with the former opinion, as machines are created and also can be controlled by humans.

Admittedly, machines are getting more and more wise in past several decades, especially after the new theory of machine learning is developed. For example, Deep Mind, which is a subsidiary of Google, invented a deep learning system called Alpha Go, which has the ability to “learn” things on its own. The Alpha Go defeated the world’s most famous go player in a 5 round go games, and people were shocked by the “thinking” ability of the system. It can learn how to play the go through delving the past go games. Thus, many people think that machines may dominate the world over humans someday.

However, while it is true that machines are evolving into more intelligent ones, people shall not forget it is humans who develop these machines. The softwares and hardwares machines rely on are developed by engineers. As humans have the ability to create these machines, they certainly can destroy machines. For example, to limit the evolution of machines, engineers can set some software switches in advance and trigger them in case machines evolve too fast. Thus, humans can not only reap the benefits of machines but also control their intellect.

In addition, except the switches which can be set in softwares, more detailed restrictions should be enacted to articulate the confine of developing machines. The regulations should focus on the ultimate limitations a machine need to follow. With the precise definition of the limitations, tech companies can follow these limitations to create machines and prevent them from evolving to creatures which condescend human beings’ intellect.

In sum, as long as humans impose specific regulations on the advancement of machines and follow such regulations strictly, the threat machines will pose to humans can be properly controlled and human mind will always be more sophisticated than machines.