If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable.

Every course of action, no matter how small, starts with a goal in mind. Goals serve as a blue print, which if provided with right means will always provide us with the intended results. The prompt suggests that If a goal is worthy, any means taken to attain it can be justified. I somewhat disagree with taking up any route to make something happen. Goals should always be attainable, without compromising on the means taken - based on the following.

While establishing goals and attaining them is important for individuals, and societies in general. It is also important to remember that we take an ethical and uncompromising approach while attaining our goals. A goal attained might bring us temporary relief and a sense of satisfaction. However, anything achieved through manipulation or blatant disregard for ethics will only bring more problems in the future. For instance, the automobile industry giant, Volkswagen has faced severe criticism from international community about 2 years back, when it used deceptive means to indicate faulty pollution emission readings. The company's reputation, which was carefully nurtured for decades, tarnished. Volkswagen had pay millions of dollars as a fine. With that being said, had it been that the company worked on enhancing its cars to emanate lesser pollutants; it would have saved millions of dollars and saved the environment also.

There is no limit to man's potential; it is also true that there are no boundaries to human desires. We are always looking for more. We want more money, more power and what not. With this innate human weakness called 'desire for more', it is only natural that we quite often than not step out of an ethical path, and people do things that they regret later. We all should have goals and desires - the world is making rapid progress because of our vision and mission to make our world a better place. While it is not wrong to have desires; we must be wary of what are goals are and how we would attain them. 'I want to get rich', is a desire which can be attained in different ways. A few, noble, would work hard and earn their living and eventually become prosperous. While others, might take a short-cut and end up becoming thieves. Universe loves to maintain symmetry; at some point the thief is termed as a criminal and thrown into a jail. The noble, hardworking are celebrated for a life-time.

It is true, sometimes, 'Rules are meant to be broken.' But often than not, we always have two paths to attain the same goal - one is based on righteousness, and the other is based on qualifying ethics. The former direction is always the best.