The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument made by the advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company suggests that despite the increse in percentage of positive reviews, the number of people attending movies produced by the company has come down. However, the writer's conclusion makes few unwarranted assumptions making his conclusion not hold water. The following questions must be answered before making any conclusion.

Firstly, the argument states that previous year fewer people attended the movies compared to any other year. The writer vaguely states the term 'fewer': for instance, if a thousand people attended the movies on an average every year, and if for a particular year, the number drops to nine hundred and ninety nine; we can still say that fewer people attended the movies comapred to any other year. However, if the director decides to increase the advertising budget based on the fact that a fall in viewership is observed, he might actually losing more money for the company - the review lost because of the reduction in viewership could be far less that the advertising budget. Even if the director comeup with the exact figures, suggesting a substantial decline in viewership, the argument's conclusion might still not hold valid because it could so happen that the region faced a recession during a particular year, and incidentally they couldn't afford to go the movies. However, the situation could get better and people could actually start going to the movies after economic conditions stabilize. The company to assess the monetary factors of that region.

Secondly, does a rise in postive reviews would necessarily mean that the movies are actually good? Definitely No! It could so happen that pubic, who didn't like movie, did not bother posting a review because they felt that the movie was patently dull or bad. In that case, positive reviews can not be accounted for deciding the movie's qualty. To obtain a valid movie rating, careful analysis has to be done; by considering whether everyone is writing a review or only those who enjoyed the movie are.

Thirdly, the argument states that the problem lies not with the quality of the movies, but with the lack of public awareness. At this point, the company has to analyse how people were aware of the movies being played previously. Even if they were aware of the fact that good movieswere being played by the company, why was there a shift in awareness for one particular year? It could so happen that people are more interested in movies produced by XYZ Company, which was established a year ago. Under such circumstances, increasing advertising efforts might not bring intended results, as people are interested in other movies. Evidence has to be provided which states the fall in viewership was because of a lack of awareness.