Lack of fresh water is becoming a global issue of increasing importance.

What problems does this shortage cause?

What measures could be taken to overcome these problems?

Water is perhaps the most important element for sustaining life. Over the past decades, lack of fresh water has been one of the most significant issues threatening life on earth. The problems caused by scarcity of water are many and varied. However, we can take a number of measures to mitigate the issue, if not completely overcoming it.

About two-thirds of the Earth's surface is filled with water in the form of natural bodies like: oceans, lakes, rivers etc., and man-made bodies like: dams, pools, reservoirs, etc. However, not all of this can be treated as fresh water, water useful for domestic puroposes like drinking, cooking, and washing clothes. Only a tiny fraction of water is accessible to human beings. However, a few decades ago, this water was enough to support the existance of mankind. In today's contemporary world, man with his unchecked exploitation of natural resources has made dwindling of natural resources possible. Thus making it a global issue of utmost importance, and one which has to be acted upon swiftly.

The problems caused by lack of water are myriad. Firstly, living animals, including humans, need water for the proper functioning of body: metabolism, maintaing body temperature, chemical activity, etc. which are important for our survivall depend upon water. Lack of water could mean suffering of millions and even death. Lack of ground water could effect the fertility of the soil thereby directly disrupting the growth of plants. This often leads to a chain of events: like a fall in areas of land suitable for agriculture would lead to a shortage of food. Water is an important coolant; it helps in maitaining an optimal temperature on the Earth. A fall in water levels globally would lead to unpredictable, and often unreversable temperature rises throughout the world. Man with his ability to think has always strived to make this world a better place. However, his greed for more, and unrestricted access to natural resources has now put us in a position, wherein even after years of scientific progress, our very existance is now a matter of concern. Clearly there are countless problems that are caused by lack of water. We can follow may measures to mitigate the issue.

Firstly, we all must identify that water is an important resource and lack of water is a global issue. Any progress, not matter how big or how small, starts at an individual level: we all have to change the way we use natural resources. Kids should be taught by adults at home, and by teachers at schools about the importance of water, and that we all must use it wisely. Secondly, governments and institutions should focus on finding sources of fresh water; with increasing populations globally, we can not rely on the same resources forever. Technologies like desalination of water should be enhanced and worked on convert sea water, which is largest source of water on the Earth, into fresh water. In developed countries, strict laws are already imposed to prevent activities such as contamination of water by industries. Similar laws should be adopted globally in developing and poor countries. Protecting water should be made a duty and not a choice; water is as important is America, as it is in say less developed country like Sudan.

While the task ahead is a might one, it is not an impossible one. With everyone's co-operation we can resolve this crisis. It should be remembered that change begins with you.