"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase — and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

The memorandum from the planning department of an electric company states that owners are eager to conserve energy, and since new technologies bring down power consumption considerably, construction of new power generating plants won't be necessary. The argument's conclusion holds true if the following three questions are answered.

Firstly, even though the memo states that home owners are eager to conserve energy, it doesn't mention whether the demand of power has changed or is still the same. The home owners might be using new electric or electronic devices resulting in an increased power consumption. Under such circumstances, even if the owners are willing to save power, it is of no use; since consumption(because of newer devices) has exceeded saving. Before making any conclusion, the electric company has to analyse statistical data; comparing electricity saving with rise in demand because of newer technologies.

Secondly, do home insulation and passive solar heating really help in maintaining ideal home temperature, and thus reducing energy consumption. The world is certainly not the way it was twenty years ago; weather, temperature cycles might have changed considerably. Thus, a shift in temperature from 30 degree centigrade to 15 degree centigrade within a few weeks is quite possible. Home owners might need electric heaters to maintain the optimal temperature. In the situation that this is true, the argument makes an unwarranted assumption regarding the efficacy of home insulation. In order for the conclusion to hold true, some or many environmental factors like changes in temperature should analysed. The assumption holds water only when there are no significant changes in the climate of the region, and even if there are changes, home owners shouldn't be using home insulators - which consume power.

Finally, the argument compares contemporary world with that twenty years back. A lot of changes could have taken place in two decades; population in the region could have grown exponentially, newer factories, offices consuming significant amount of electricity could have been established. In such case, the electricity consumption would have increased dramatically, and in no time there could be a power outage in the area. The author should provide evidence that proves power consumption remained unaffected in these two decades.

Finally, whether the three power plants will be sufficient to provide power for the region can only be decided once the above unwarranted assumptions are answered by citing appropriate evidence as stated above.