The best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people whom they lead.

There are a number of traits that a good leader must possess. One such quality is including people in decision making. I strongly agree with the prompt's suggestion that best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people, whom they lead, based on three key points.

Nations thrive when there is coherence between the rulers and the people. History suggests that one of the major reasons why a few civilizations flourished was due to presence of a great leader, who also valued the opinions of the general public. In ancient Greece, kings would walk through the streets of the nation in disguise to examine the living conditions of the people. Based on the observations, necessary steps were taken for the prosperity of the public. The idea of democracy is not new; it is derived from the greek words 'demos' - people and 'kratia' - rule. In ancient times, public meetings were held, where people would give suggestions or tell their grievances to the king or the ministers. This feedback from the citizens served as an invaluable information for the king to make his decisions wisely - for the welfare and prosperity of the nation. Thus, talking to people and hearing them is tried and successful concept which is still being followed and improvised in the contemporary world.

In the 21st century, the general public and the decisions makers or the government are brought even closer and government-citizen coherence and understanding is of prime importance. Today, most nations use 'GHI' - Gross Happiness Index along with the 'GDP' - Gross Domestic Product, which serves as a feedback mechanism to understand the overall happiness and well-being of a nation or individual. A lot of time and research is being invested to understand the cause-effect relationship of a particular goverment policy or bill, by taking feedback from the people. Even in organizations like Google, Apple, Microsoft, etc., managers are trained for years to get feedback or hearout ideas/suggestions from every employee. Steve Jobs once said, "I don't hire an individual and tell him what to do. I hire him and he tells me what's best for the company."

While it may not always be possible to hear out top every single opinion, A good leader always tries his best to at least get a general overview of opinions through feeback and listening.