Investments in life saving technology are more valuable than investments in technology related to entertainment or luxury

The speaker claims that investing in technologies that are life savers is more important than investing in technologies that serve the purpose of luxuriousness and entertainment. However, I tend to agree with the author, and in the next three paragraphs, I will explain the reasons for my position.

Firstly, investing in life-saving technologies should be an utmost priority when making investments. Consider major sicknesses such as AIDS, Cancer, deadly viruses, etc. that cause the death of millions of people every year. Yet, our medical science failed to succeed in discovering remedies for these ailments. Consider Covid-19, a deadly virus that causes millions of lives worldwide in 2020 because of the lack of vaccine. If there were vaccines for these deadly diseases, hundreds of millions of people could be saved yearly. So, in such grave scenarios, no need beats the purpose of investing in life-saving technologies.

Moreover, even if we consider respective values of investments in a different sector, we see that the values created by investments in life-saving technologies outperform the investments in other sectors like luxury or entertainment. The demand for luxuries and entertainment only arises when there is a certain economic and healthy situation. People only feel the need for luxuries or entertainment when their basic necessities are fulfilled. One who lives off his day to day income does not think of the luxuries or entertainment. However, they still go to the hospital when they are sick, regardless of their income, use technologies that are life-savers. Considering billions of people living under the poverty line, it is fair to conclude that investments in life-saving technologies create more value.

People tend to argue that investments in technologies that are related to luxuries or entertainment create more profit. But, one cannot deny the fact that the profits and values created by these investments are fickle, which changes over time with the demand of the market, whereas, the demand for investments in life-saving technologies is constant, making it more attractive.