Over the past year our late night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news During the same time period most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with th

The manager of the television station claims that they should restore their time broadcasting weather and local news that they have previously reduced in order to attract more viewers and to avoid losing advertising revenues. However, to substantiate his recommendation, he fails to provide any reliable evidence and the conclusion stands on some assumption for which they provide no clear evidence. Hence, the claim of the manager is rather weak, unconvincing, and flawed.

Firstly, the manager readily assumes that most of the complaints they received regarding their coverage of weather and local news are about the shortage of the time of the coverage. Those complaints might be concerned with the quality of their news coverage. Unless the manager provide clear evidence substantiating that the complaints were about reduced coverage time, he or she cannot make such conclusion.

Secondly, the manager also assumes that the advertising companies are cancelling their advertising contracts with them due to the reduced coverage time of weather and local news. There can be some other reason for which the advertising companies are cancelling their contracts. Perhaps, those advertising companies do not want to continue their advertising campaign for their certain products that leads them to cancel their contract with the television station.

Thirdly, The manager assumes that restoring coverage time of weather and local news would attract more viewers for which he or she provided no clear evidence.