Fifteen years ago Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors Since that time Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes and overall student

In this memo, Omega University’s dean recommends that they should end the system of evaluation of professors by the students in order to ensure better jobs for their students. To support his or her recommendation he cites that their students’ average grade has increased by thirty percent since they implemented the process of evaluation of professors by the students. He or she also stated that the employers of Omega University believe that this increase in grade is an inflation, and this inflation is negatively effecting the students at being as successful as those of Alpha University at securing better jobs. However, the recommendation relies on a series of unsubstantiated assumptions, which render it unconvincing as it stands.

To begin with, the dean readily attributed the thirty percent increase in average grade to the procedure of evaluation of professors they implemented fifteen years ago. Considering the time have passed since the implementation of that procedure, the dean overlooks the possibility that 30% increase can be attributed to any other factors. It is not a surprise when students’ average increases over the time. It is entirely possible that the quality of teaching has increased during that time period which is actually responsible for the 30% increase in average grades of the students. If this is the case, the recommended acquisition would not serve the university’s goal.

To further substantiate his recommendation, the dean noted that employers of Omega University consider this increase in average grade as inflation, which, employers think, is responsible for graduates not getting better jobs. However, he or she did not provide any evidence to substantiate this assumption. Even if this increase is an inflation, it does not necessarily indicate that the students of Omega University are not qualified for better jobs. Higher grade does not necessarily be the only factor depending on which students get better jobs. Omega University’s students might be failing to meet some other requirements that competitive jobs require. If the above it true, then the dean’s argument does not hold water.

Also the dean of Omega University went further to compare their students with those of Alpha University at getting better jobs, and he or she assumes that students of Alpha University are securing better jobs compared to those of Omega University because of the process of evaluation of professors that was implemented fifteen years ago. Perhaps, students of Alpha University better at securing better jobs because they tend to meet all the requirements that companies want, not just the academic grade. Even it can also be possible that Alpha University’s grade system is more inflated than that of Omega University but their students being better at getting better jobs attributed to the learning environments, their professors’ teaching quality, and other important factors that affects the quality of a students. Since the dean fails to rule out these and other possible explanations for Alpha University students being better at ensuring better work, I cannot accept any conclusions about the comparison between Alpha and Omega University.

In conclusion, the dean cannot make justify his or her recommendation on the basis of the scant evidence provided in the memorandum. To bolster his or her recommendation, the dean must provide better evidence that the 30% increase in average grade is attributable to the policy they took 15 years ago (and not to any other factors), that academic excellency is the only requirement that is needed to get a better job, and that Omega University students are comparable to those of Alpha University.