Issue3:Scandal are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The speaker asserts that scandals are more useful than reformers since scandals can focus our attention on problems, but reformers cannot. I fundamentally disagree with the speaker. Although scandals are useful in the political area, they have no positive effect in the long term, or on the economic area.

Admittedly, in political areas scandals are useful to improve management. If there are no scandals, governments receive no penalty. Through scandals, people can make leaders of the country pressed to enhance the performance of management. An effective scandal forced the government to reflect, leading them to change their policies and create more benefits for the public. Even if the governments have supreme power in the country, they cannot ignore people’s force. The Watergates scandal, a major political scandal in the United States, is a good example, which finally leads the U.S supreme court to make a series of reformations to guarantee the security of the country. In a words, scandal is an effective means because it attracts public attention, which makes government reforming.

However, in the long term scandal hurt society. if society overly depends on the scandal to inspect the government, which will let the government falling to keep its promise to people. When people distrust the government, society is in danger because the government cannot use any power to balance the society disturbing. As a result, implacable social problems will cause a series of threats to people. The overly dependent on scandal could not be an effective means, whereas reformer could make society progressing in the long term, which is unable for scandal. Reformers use their methods, such as culture reformatting and social reformatting, to improve society gradually, and to build cultural literacy. In short, the scandal could not be a useful method to improve society in the long term.

In the realm of the economy, scandal is also not useful. Even a series of big scandals appear every day, society has no improvement from the economic angle. It is needed to reckon what is the main problems, but not use the scandal to threaten the government overly. The economic improvement is not relative to scandal but is associated with the country’s development. Whether scandals are more or less, it is not pertinent to the economic increasing. However, Reformers could practically reform the country’s development, boosting the national economy through economic reformatting. Without reformers, the country’s economy is hard to improve because of lacking reformation that facilitates country development. In sum, scandal is not a useful means to improve society from an aspect of the economy.

In sum, although scandals have some merits in the political realm, they have no positive effect on the economic area, even having a negative impact in the long term.