It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Do you agree or disagree? Explain with reasons.

Friends form an important part of one's life. A man's character is infact judged by the friends he keeps.They are integral to making one's life complete. When there is dilemma of choosing between old and new friends, I agree with the statement that it more important to keep our old friends than it is to make new friends.

Firstly, our old friends have been there with us through our thick and thin in life. They were always a source of encouragement and lent us their shoulder in times of need. They had an important role in shaping our personality and achievements. To neglect them just because a new opportunity has opened up would be black mark on friendship and morally reprehensible.

Secondly, one does not know who our true friends are until we spend some time with them. Since, we have spent considerable time with our old friends, it is good to persist with them. To just pick a new friend for old one without even knowing what is in store for us in the future is just bad judgement. We might repent such a decision in future .

On the other hand it is true that as we progress in life we come to meet some new people. Some of them can possess some qualities which are in tune with us, giving a scope for friendship. This is an inevitable part of life. But one should be careful that in clamour for new friendships one should not neglect old ones. Just like wine, friendship becomes more enriching as it ages. It would be imprudent to neglect such old wines in cupboard for new wine bottle.

In conclusion, friendships are inevitable part of one's life. It is always prudent to retain our old friendships and give them adequate importance when compared to a new friend. At same time people should not stop looking for new friendships as they move forward in life.