• It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

RESPONSE :

Humans are judgmental beings. We judge a person as soon as we get a minor piece of detail about him/her. Nowadays, our tendency of reacting before ruminating has increased and the media has become wily of it. The media will show anything, which it considers would spark heat among people, and we, believe it without evidence. The statement put forward by the author that it is no longer for the society to regard any living being as a hero because of the media is true, but there are some aspects of it not contended by the author.

Hero, after all, is a human being and human beings make mistakes, but it depends on us how we perceive that mistake. Hero or a role model doesn’t have to be someone, who is perfect. Nobody’s perfect and we all make mistakes, one of them is being injudicious. A person may be adored by one person, but not by the other person necessarily. It is a very subjective word and everybody has different definitions of it. Someone may consider a person to be a hero if the media touts him, while the other person may consider someone to be a hero who is not a public figure and does the good deed without recognition and public approval. For instance, a feminist may not be a hero for one person, but may be a role model for the other. Similarly, a veterinarian, a doctor, a policeman, soldier, and alike are all role models for some but not for the others.

It doesn’t take a minute to find fault in someone. It depends on us, who we want to adore and, who are abominable to us. As said before, nobody is perfect. Everybody seem nice and sweet at first, but it is when we go deep into knowing about their lives, is when we find their true self and media plays this role very well. It gets so involved in some people’s lives, that even the nicest of the person tends to lose composure and flap. As most of us do not want to put ourselves in their shoes, end up judging them erroneously, without knowing their true self.

In contrast, there are some, who act sanctimonious in front of the media and belie about their overall personality. But these are some extreme cases, which happen rarely. With time, everyone’s true personality becomes permeable in the society. Succinctly, everybody has faults and it depends on us what we want to consider and prioritize. For example, Mahatma Gandhi, father of our nation, who helped India, achieve independence from the British rule, is considered a role model by several, but some after knowing his personal life and his personal deeds, loathe him.

Therefore, it is our own perception and judgment, which separates a hero from a non-hero. Media, albeit, has a big role in altering our perception doesn’t always provide with false or “too-much” information. It also helps us know about people’s works, lifestyle and good deeds done by them. It helps us motivate us to be or not to be like them and judge sagaciously about what is right and what is not.