Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study.

Usually, subjects opted for in college define a person’s future. It requires in depth research and practice to excel and gain insight about the subject, so that it can be used in the future practically. Schools and universities differ in this area. Schools, albeit, provide facts and reason behind the facts, one doesn’t have to focus only on one area. Schools offer a buffet of mandatory and diverse subjects so that, students can determine what interests them. Hence, the argument stated by the author is rife with flaws and assumptions.

University students focus more on their field of study rather than diverse subjects. To understand a subject in depth, one cannot digress his attention to multiple different subjects. This will have two impacts: the student would not be able to focus on his/her subject, which really interests him/her and even if a student tries to give importance to the variegated subjects, it would require arduous efforts. For instance, if someone is pursuing moral philosophy, the hypothetical student will neither be able to focus on his field of study nor on the other subject say, physics. This will not only make the student peevish, the student would be lost in a morass. Similarly, a student majoring in mathematics would not be able to balance his field of study with psychology unless it interests him.

In contrast to the above statement, it would be helpful for the students if the courses offered by the university helps the students soothe their mind, improve physical and mental health, or are lighter than their field of study. For example, courses like yoga, sports, or some form of art will not only make them happy, but will also help them become sedulous in their field of study. Similarly, courses, which do not require strenuous efforts, can be provided to the students so that they do not get bored of their original field of study and can study the elective courses to digress their focus from their main subjects.

Similarly, offering of variegated courses to students outside the student’s field of study can help those students who are not confident in what their future holds. There are many students who change their majors multiple times in college because they are in a fix which course will suit them the best. Offering diverse courses can help these students find their area of interest, which will not only benefit their present but their future as well. This saves the student from feeling guilty for not choosing or trying some other course.

In short, it should not be mandated for the students to take courses outside their field of study. Every student is different. Some want to focus solely on their field of study, others want something, which will help them digress their focus from it, and some require options to determine their field of interest. Therefore, universities should provide diverse courses, but students should have the freedom to choose or not to choose them.