It is primarily through our identification with social groups we define ourselves

Every single man is a part of the society he lives in and can never be completely individual. Each and every one is required to have social security no. , address proof, ID card and community certificates to validate the social group they belong and to show case where they belong. Belonging of an individual to a particular group is an imaginative assertion considering no single person is free from his or her own disbeliefs from the system nevertheless they grow and are completely used to it.

Every human being is unique in his own way. A person brought up or living in a particular social group can reflects its trait as the human brain develops through the experiences it faces throughout. A child born in a family of doctors and growing up in doctors’ community is more likely to envision itself as a doctor and most probably considering its own identity as a doctor. Amidst all the above influence, what is also true is if the child is given the liberty of finding its own identity it may or may not be parallel to the social group it belong which means a human being need not necessarily identify himself in his group as each and every one is distinct in their own way unless externally influenced.

Positing that a person is defined by his social group is dangerous connation which can lead to various unjust practices. It is in fact arguable that if a child see its mother helping others, obliged to do so in the future. Viewing this situation in a bird’s eye, the probability that it might lead to jaundiced approach is high as it deepens one’s biased attitude. In a school, if a teacher suspects a student for stealing just because he comes from a particular social group, do not seem admirable. A person who is expected to do a degrading job just because his parents does, is far from defining himself from his own group

Moreover, fixing on a stature that a person is what his own kith and kin is makes peculiar people misfit to his own community. In a situation as given in the argument where it is mandatory that everybody should find their identity in their own mingling tendency to their groups can create many outcasts among groups which consequently leads to rise in depression and anxiety among people. There will arise a rush in people to make efforts to belong somehow even though they are not. As a result, they might turn socially unfit.

In this democratic era, it is important for an individual to have atmost freedom in choosing how to define himself. At times like this when a lot of unique people who are considered outcast are coming out themselves, still clinging to the traits of a group to make oneself, will never create a healthy environment to live in